Huskies ranked ninth in final D-2 Cross Country Polls

By  | 

NEW ORLEANS, La. In the final USTFCCCA national poll of the season, both the Michigan Tech cross country men's and women's teams received the No. 9 ranking in their respective polls.

The Huskies receive their top 10 rankings following second-place finishes for both teams at the 2019 NCAA Division II Midwest Regional Championships, automatically qualifying them for the National Championships for the first time in program history. The men's team finished the day with 116 points, while the women scored 146 points on Saturday.

In the final national poll of the season, the Michigan Tech men's team received 138 points, slipping one spot from No. 8 to No. 9. Colorado School of Mines (200 pts.), Chico State (190 pts.), Grand Valley State (180 pts.), Western Colorado (180 pts.), and Adams State (167 pts.) complete the top five, while Missouri Southern (163 pts.), Northwest Missouri (152 pts.), Augustana (S.D.) (140 pts.), the Huskies, and Alabama-Huntsville (119 pts.) round out the top 10.

With their second-place finish, Tech received 134 points to jump 10 spots from the previous poll, the largest movement of any team in the final USTFCCCA standings. Adams State (200 pts.), Grand Valley State (192 pts.), Colorado School of Mines (184 pts.), Chico State (176 pts.), and Augustana (S.D.) (176 pts.) make up the top five, followed by Western Colorado (157 pts.), U-Mary (156 pts.), Lee (139 pts.), the Huskies, and UC-Colorado Springs (126 pts.) conclude the top 10.

The Huskies will run in the final race of the season at the 2019 NCAA Division II National Championships on November 23. Held at the Haggin Oaks Golf Course from Sacramento, California, the women's team will run in the 6K race at 1 p.m. Eastern/10 a.m. Pacific, and the men will compete in the 10K race at 2:15 p.m. Eastern/11:15 a.m. Pacific.