Hunter Eichhorn on final fall Haskins Award Watch List

CTSY: Marquette University Athletics
By  | 

COLUMBUS, Ga. (WLUC) – Marquette University men's golfer Hunter Eichhorn has been named to the final fall watch list for the Fred Haskins Award, honoring the year's outstanding college golfer.

Eichhorn has led the Golden Eagles at five of six tournaments this fall and recorded four top-10 finishes. The Carney, Michigan native earned medalist honors at the Windon Memorial Classic on Sept. 16-17 at Conway Farms and the Marquette Intercollegiate at Erin Hills on Oct. 6-8 and is a two-time BIG EAST Conference Male Golfer of the Week.

The junior has finished all six tournaments at par-or-better and tied a collegiate low with a 6-under 207 at the Windon Memorial Classic. He has posted a 70.39 scoring average this fall to lead MU and is an average of 1.11 strokes under par with 13 of 18 rounds this season coming under par.

Eichhorn is Marquette's career scoring leader at 71.43 strokes and owns four career collegiate victories. In addition to winning the individual crown at the 2018 BIG EAST Championship, he also won the 118th Wisconsin State Amateur Championship in July.

Past winners of the Haskins Award include a who's who PGA Tour professionals, including Justin Thomas, Patrick Cantlay, Hunter Mahan, Graeme McDowell, Matt Kuchar, Tiger Woods, Justin Leonard and Phil Mickelson.

The trophy honors the year's outstanding college golfer and the memory of Fred Haskins, an obscure club pro who spent his life nurturing and mentoring amateur golfers. The commission based in Columbus, Georgia, oversees the voting conducted among college golfers, coaches and golf media.