TV6 & FOX UP Spotlight - Suicide Prevention

Below are resources for you or someone you know who is concerned about suicide.

Suicide Prevention

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Michigan Association for Suicide Prevention
Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, Barb Smutek (906) 635-8629;
Baraga County, Pan Dove (906) 524-3449;
Chippewa County, Dr. Barbara Weber (906) 635-7270;
Delta County, Ann Buchler (906) 399-4950;
Iron County, Bill Reid (906)779-0637;
Mackinac County, Ann Belonga (906) 643-8442;
Marquette County, The Marquette County Suicide Prevention Alliance, Sarah Derwin (906) 315-2621;
Menominee County, Dan McVane (715) 735-9820;

• Marquette
Marquette County – Suicide Prevention Alliance
-Grassroots team of concerned citizens and organizations representing governmental, private, and non-profit sectors in Marquette County. The mission is to reduce the incidence of suicide in our community.
Call: (906) 482-HELP (4357) Text: (906) 35-NEEDS (63337)

Sarah Derwin (Marquette County Health Department), (906) 315-2621
-They DO NOT provide crisis counseling (“If you, or someone you love, are struggling with an immediate crisis” they provide outside numbers to contact)

To Write Love on Her Arms (TWLOHA) (NMU student organization)"_blank
Morgan Angel (517) 526-7860

• Houghton
Dial Help Community Support & Outreach Center
-Crisis line, safety net programs for entire U.P.
Business phone (906) 482-9077
Houghton & Keweenaw Counties Suicide Prevention Coalition

• Alger, Baraga, Luce Counties
Communities That Care

• Alger County, Mary Joan O’Halloran-Torongo at 906-202-2244 or
• Baraga County, Robin Chosa at 906-201-4024 or
• Luce County, Rosa Zitnik at 906-291-0545 or

Upper Peninsula Suicide Prevention Coalition
-Broad coalition across U.P.

• Delta
Delta County Suicide Prevention Task Force (End the Silence Walk)

• Iron Mountain (Dickinson County)
HOPE for Suicide Prevention
(906) 396-7819

• Dickinson-Iron Community
Northpointe Behavioral Health Systems
24-Hour Crisis Hotline at 1-800-750-0522

• Chippewa County
Suicide Prevention Committee
(906) 635-1566

• Ontonagon County
Copper County Mental Health
(906) 884-4804

• Gogebic County
Gogebic Community Mental Health
24-Hour Crisis Hotline at 1-800-348-0032
Admin (906) 229-6100
OP Services (906) 229-6120
Access 888-906-9060
Pat Gallinagh 932-5718