Marquette County Officer of the Year awarded

Published: Mar. 14, 2018 at 3:33 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Marquette County Law Enforcement Administration awarded their Marquette County Officer of the Year Award for 2017.

Nominated this year was Detective Chad Radabaugh from the Ishpeming Police Department, and Officer Zachary Gauthier with the Marquette City Police.

Also nominated was Deputy Aaron Griffin with the Marquette County Sheriff's Department, Trooper Randall Rovelsky with the Michigan State Police, and this year's award recipient, Detective/Patrolman Mark Hanes with the Marquette City Police Department.

"I'm pretty honored to get this award. I mean you heard the nominations from the the other departments and the officers, so Marquette County is lucky to have such outstanding officers, so I'm pretty proud to be up here," Award winner Detective Mark Hanes with the Marquette City Police Department said.

Detective Hanes has been a police officer for 26 years, and with the Marquette Police for 20 years.

However, although all the officers nominated are an invaluable asset to the county, his work with the U.P.S.E.T. Narcotics Team for the last 15 years was the deciding factor this year.