Marquette Area Public Schools honor teachers, retirees at 2018 awards

Published: Jun. 11, 2018 at 7:48 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Marquette Area Public Schools honored a few outstanding faculty at their 2018 awards Monday night.

Three people went home with Teacher of the Year, Co-Teacher of the Year, and Support Staff Person of the Year awards.

Lesley Addison, who graduated from Marquette schools and serves as the guidance counselor for Bothwell Middle School was named Teacher of the Year. Ann Piereson, from Superior Hills Elementary and a former State of Michigan Teacher of the Year, was named Co-Teacher of the Year. The first ever Support Staff Person of the Year was awarded to Sue Britton of Sandy Knoll Elementary.

"Being recognized as teacher of the Year for our district is an incredible honor. It's also very humbling. None of us do what we do by ourselves, and to be recognized by the members of our team for the work that we do is very gratifying and motivating, and also gives us a sense of accomplishment. It's very inspiring to be recognized by your colleagues, to have that moment of having someone say we appreciate what you do and we support you. It gives you positive feedback to want to do more and do better with the students that we work with," explains Lesley Addison, Marquette Area Public Schools' (MAPS) 2018 Teacher of the Year.

MAPS also honored a number of teachers and staff who were retiring with a commemorative retirement bell, including Debra Abraham, Bob Anthony, Collene Cole, Mary Ellingsen, Sheila Espinoza, Vicki Flanigan

Nancy Fletcher, Karen Helmila, Lee Kersey, Deborah Ann Lark, Colleen Maki, Shirley Menhennick, Jodi Miller, Deborah St. John, and Nancy Usitalo.

Congratulations to all!

Latest News

Latest News