Bergman, Walberg to object to certain presidential electors on Jan. 6

Not all Republican leaders agree with objecting, though.
This file photo shows the U.S. Capitol building in Washington, D.C.
This file photo shows the U.S. Capitol building in Washington, D.C.(Source: CNN)
Published: Jan. 4, 2021 at 2:55 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WASHINGTON (WLUC) - Two Michigan congressmen announced they will formally object during the Electoral College certification process this week.

On Monday, Rep. Jack Bergman (MI-01) and Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-07) will make their objection Jan. 6.

In a statement, the congressmen said, “The very foundation of our Democracy lies in the tenets of a free, fair, and secure election. Americans deserve to know only legal votes are counted and reports regarding irregularities, fraud, and failure to follow election laws are thoroughly investigated. Poll challengers have raised valid concerns about election integrity across our Nation that brings into question the results of the 2020 election and puts faith in future elections in jeopardy.

“While the easy answer is ignoring election irregularities – we will not stand idly by without taking every lawfully available option to ensure the outcomes of our elections can be trusted. This includes objecting to the electoral votes from disputed states where there is evidence warranting an investigation.

”Our options are not binary - Congress has an obligation to the tens of millions of Americans who have lost faith in our election process to prove that our elections are free, fair, and follow laws in place. We join with our Senate colleagues calling for an Emergency Electoral Commission to perform an emergency audit of the election results in the 10 days before the inauguration.”

According to a release from the congressmen, objecting during the certification process is not an unprecedented action and was done as recently as 2017 when seven Democrat Members of Congress (Reps Jim McGovern, Barbara Lee, Sheila Jackson Lee, Raul Grijalva, Pramila Jayapal, Jamie Raskin, and Maxine Waters) objected to the 2016 Presidential election. Additionally, in 2005, 31 House Democrats objected to the counting of Ohio’s electoral votes in the 2004 presidential election claiming widespread irregularities on Election Day.

Not all Republican leaders agree with objecting, though. Republicans Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Bill Cassidy of Louisiana and Mitt Romney of Utah have stated that “The 2020 election is over.” Read more about news about the Electoral College certification here.

Copyright 2021 WLUC. All rights reserved.