TV6 & FOX UP Spotlight - Suicide Prevention

Below are resources for you or someone you know who is concerned about suicide.

Suicide Prevention

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/
1-800-273-8255

Michigan Association for Suicide Prevention
http://masponweb.org/index.htm
Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, Barb Smutek (906) 635-8629; bsmutek@saulttribe.net
Baraga County, Pan Dove (906) 524-3449; pdove@bcmh.org
Chippewa County, Dr. Barbara Weber (906) 635-7270; weber1222@sbcglobal.net
Delta County, Ann Buchler (906) 399-4950; abuchler@dsnet.us
Iron County, Bill Reid (906)779-0637; breid@nbhs.org
Mackinac County, Ann Belonga (906) 643-8442; abbelonga@sault.com
Marquette County, The Marquette County Suicide Prevention Alliance, Sarah Derwin (906) 315-2621; sderwin@mqtco.org
Menominee County, Dan McVane (715) 735-9820; brmcvdan@gmail.com

• Marquette
Marquette County – Suicide Prevention Alliance
-Grassroots team of concerned citizens and organizations representing governmental, private, and non-profit sectors in Marquette County. The mission is to reduce the incidence of suicide in our community.
https://marquette-spa.org/
Call: (906) 482-HELP (4357) Text: (906) 35-NEEDS (63337)

Sarah Derwin (Marquette County Health Department), (906) 315-2621
-They DO NOT provide crisis counseling (“If you, or someone you love, are struggling with an immediate crisis” they provide outside numbers to contact)

To Write Love on Her Arms (TWLOHA) (NMU student organization)
http://www.nmu.edu/organizations/current-organizations?org=681:target="_blank
https://www.facebook.com/groups/twlohaatnmu/?ref=bookmarks
Morgan Angel (517) 526-7860

• Houghton
Dial Help Community Support & Outreach Center
-Crisis line, safety net programs for entire U.P.
http://www.dialhelp.org/
Business phone (906) 482-9077
Houghton & Keweenaw Counties Suicide Prevention Coalition
https://www.facebook.com/suicidepreventioninhoughtonandkeweenaw/

• Alger, Baraga, Luce Counties
Communities That Care
https://www.facebook.com/pg/algercocoalition/about/?ref=page_internal

• Alger County, Mary Joan O’Halloran-Torongo at 906-202-2244 or mohalloran@cfsup.org
• Baraga County, Robin Chosa at 906-201-4024 or rchosa@cfsup.org
• Luce County, Rosa Zitnik at 906-291-0545 or rzitnik@cfsup.org

Upper Peninsula Suicide Prevention Coalition
https://www.facebook.com/Upper-Peninsula-Suicide-Prevention-Coalition-165690650165444/
-Broad coalition across U.P.

• Delta
Delta County Suicide Prevention Task Force (End the Silence Walk)
http://www.endthesilencewalk.com/home.html
https://www.facebook.com/End-The-Silence-Walk-110478395634138/

• Iron Mountain (Dickinson County)
HOPE for Suicide Prevention
https://www.facebook.com/dickinsoncountyoutofthedarkness/
(906) 396-7819

• Dickinson-Iron Community
Northpointe Behavioral Health Systems
http://www.nbhs.org/
24-Hour Crisis Hotline at 1-800-750-0522

• Chippewa County
Suicide Prevention Committee
http://www.chippewahd.com/Page/574
(906) 635-1566

• Ontonagon County
Copper County Mental Health
http://www.cccmh.org/
(906) 884-4804

• Gogebic County
Gogebic Community Mental Health
http://www.gccmh.org/suicide-awarenessprevention/
24-Hour Crisis Hotline at 1-800-348-0032
Admin (906) 229-6100
OP Services (906) 229-6120
Access 888-906-9060
Pat Gallinagh 932-5718